San Diego Natural History Museum--Your Nature ConnectionAbout San Diego Natural History Museum

About Our Museum
Biodiversity Research Center of the Californias (BRCC)
Environmental Science Education Center (ESEC)
Speakers Bureau

Board of Directors
Binational Advisory Board

Annual Reports and Financials
2002-2012 Strategic Plan

P.O. Box 121390
San Diego, CA 92112-1390 USA
General: 619.232.3821
Administration: 619.255.0216
Fax: 619.232.0248

About Our Museum

Michael W. Hager, Ph.D.
President & CEO
San Diego Natural History Museum

Photo of Mick HagerDr. Michael W. Hager has been in the museum profession since 1965. He was a Professor of Geology at Augustana College (1973–78), the Director of the Museum of the Rockies (1978–89), Director of the Virginia Museum of Natural History (1989–91), and has been President and Chief Executive Officer of the San Diego Natural History Museum since 1991. Dr. Hager is also President of CinemaCorp of the Californias, an educational film production company (1998– Present).

Dr. Hager led Strategic Planning efforts in 1991-92 that, subsequently, led to focusing the Museum's programs on Southern California and Baja California, the founding of the Environmental Science Education Center and the Biodiversity Research Center of the Californias, and a Capital Campaign for the construction of a Museum renovation that more than doubled its original size. He is also the Executive Producer of Ocean Oasis, a $5 million large format film about Baja California. Ocean Oasis is the recipient of several awards including the Wildscreen Film Festival “Panda Award,” the Jackson Hole Wildlife Film Festival “Best Theatrical Program Award,” the International Film & Video Festival Conservation Award, the Houston Wildlife Film Festival Platinum Award, and the SEASPACE/PADI Project Aware—Environmental Awareness Award (2003).

He sits on the board of the Balboa Park Committee and is President of the Balboa Park Cultural Partnership.

Dr. Hager earned a B.A. in biology from Grinnell College and a Ph.D. in geology from the University of Wyoming. His academic specialty is paleontology and his administrative specialty is strategic planning and development.

Contact Us |